top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTrinity Reilly

Two Months!!!!

Updated: Nov 9, 2018

As of yesterday (only one day late!) I have been in Italy for an entire two months. That means I’m already one fifth of the way through my entire exchange which is ridiculous because I feel like it just started. Everyone told me this year would go by fast, but I didn’t realize just how fast it would actually be.


My favorite building, the Como Duomo

Small side note: if you’re thinking about doing exchange (which I 100% recommend!!!!!!!!!) please let me know as soon as possible and I will get you in contact with my club so you can apply! The applications are due soon so please make the best decision you can make for yourself and at least ask me about it!


My last two weeks honestly should inspire you to do exchange or at least spark a little jealousy, cause I know I would totally be jealous of me. Last week we went to Milan and, as always, it was pretty eventful. We really tried super hard to make our train but even after running (an ugly sight as exchange students do not work out) we made it to the station just as the train was pulling away. We did, however, make it to Milan – and then severely messed up using the train station. Thankfully we ran into Johnson, another exchange student, and he took us to Chinatown so we could finally eat (by then, it was about 3 in the afternoon). And the wait turned out to be worth it – I ate some of the best Asian food I have ever had in my life. Props to Johnson for telling us what to order – he’s from Taiwan, so he knows what’s good. After eating, we went to show Heather the Duomo, because it was her first time in Milan which is crazy. We had the obligatory photo shoot and then walked towards the gelateria (what else do exchange students do) when we heard screaming and discovered that Simone Paciello, an italian youtuber/influencer, was across the street. As you can see, he tried to eat my gelato (rude!) so honestly he did not live up to those thirteen-year-olds’ hype.


The rest of the week was pretty normal – school, Italian lessons, spending too much money in como, etc. I did get to try some Belgian chocolate and Spanish cakes thanks to Lola and so that was absolutely delicious. And then Dani and Heather and I went out on Saturday for pizza which was insanely amazing. I could eat that pizza every day I have left. If you really know me you know that’s like… insane growth. Another thing I’ve really gotten better at is cooking. I help my host mom cook dinner sometimes, and last Sunday we made gnocchi together from scratch, which was super cool. We had rabbit that day too which was a first for me but it was actually pretty good!



The next week was Halloween. It is so sad to be in Italy during Halloween when you love Halloween, because it is not a big deal at all. I went out with some friends but didn’t dress up or anything. The next day I promised myself that for the rest of my life I will make the biggest deal of Halloween because this year was so sad. And it’s such a waste here because every Italian school has three days off for All Saints Day, so you literally never have school the day after Halloween. And you can’t even take advantage of it. How sad.


We were going to go to Elba, as I said in my last post, but it ended up being horrible weather and the ferry to the island was closed, so we couldn’t go. But I will at some point in the year, so pictures will come I promise! Instead, my host parents took me on two little day trips: one to Bellagio, the most picturesque Italian lake town and exactly what you picture when you think ‘italian villa’, and one to Alba, a town near Turin that is also perfectly Italian, with hills and groves and vineyards. There was actually a truffle festival in Turin so I ate so many truffle-flavored foods and even a little bit of an actual truffle which was good but if you ask me not really worth all the money. And in Bellagio there was a sign with a picture of Elba, so I basically went to all three places. Truly a beautiful and much needed break from school. 6 days a week is not the most fun.


Practically in Elba

This past week has been pretty normal. But at the same time, every week is better than the last. Right now, I’m planning a Thanksgiving dinner for some Italian friends which hopefully will be good as I myself have never cooked the dishes I’m going to make. But my mom makes them really well so in theory it will be delicious! Another thing I’m unsure of is how my math test went today. I really should know how to do everything (I learned it all last year) but… it’s different when I actually have to do it. I’ll let you know next time if I officially pass the ‘gravimente insufficente’ into plain old ‘insufficiente’. Fingers crossed!


Love you all and see you soon.

89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ciao.

The Truth about Being An Exchange Student (as far as I know)

If you haven’t already heard, I went to ~church camp~ this week. Finally made it to Mass in Italy (that is, four Masses, because it was, like, really a church camp), had some really cool experiences t

bottom of page