top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTrinity Reilly

The First 11 Days

I really cannot believe I’ve been here almost two weeks!!! (this was going to be a one week report but if you know me you know I procrastinate). It seems both way longer and way shorter than that, if that makes any sense.


The airport with my host parents, Giancarlo & Roberta

So to recap: the first day, Rachel and I landed at 8:40 after some interesting experiences, including meeting a fellow exchange student on his way to Turkey (got a really cool pin too), getting our carry-ons taken before entering the plane despite there being 10 empty overhead bins (and one literally right next to us), and not realizing the gate for our second flight had changed and subsequently having to all-out sprint during the final boarding call (made it though). Customs was ridiculously easy and then we officially began our exchanges – Rachel went to Lecco (an hour from me) with her family while Roberta, Giancarlo, Alessandro and I drove towards Villa Guardia.



So I finally got to the house (which is absolutely beautiful and has an amazing view and lawn) and basically slept all day. Didn’t even unpack. Thinking back to the first day, I already know so much more Italian. Or, I can at least understand a lot more – I can usually get the main point of a conversation. So I mostly know what’s going on, but if someone asks me a question I often wildly misinterpret it cause I kind of make up a sentence based on however many words of the question I actually know. So basically I seem really dumb but actually am not! Yay.


Other highlights: I’ve been to Como probably four times and it’s absolutely beautiful. Every church in Italy is insane and you can’t go more than three or four blocks without seeing one. I also met two other exchange students who both go to my school – one girl from Belgium and another from Arizona. They’re both super nice and it’s super helpful/comforting to talk to people going through the same thing as you. Shoutout to Rachel who helped me literally so much (homesickness is real guys). And I'm meeting the other exchange students in our district this weekend in Varese, which is supposed to have great shopping. Zara is about to make a whole lot of money. On another note, if you haven’t had Italian gelato, book a plane ticket right now. It. is. so. good. Better than ice cream. And if you know me, you know that I really love ice cream, so that means gelato is pretty freaking good. I’m not kidding, the plane ticket price is worth it for the gelato and prosciutto. And that random parking lot that is seriously built on top of roman ruins, a fact I cannot wrap my head around.


Actual. Roman. Ruins. Under a parking lot.

Unfortunately though, my life here does not solely revolve around food. I started school Thursday and, even though the only subject I’ve understood is (unexpectedly) chemistry, it’s fun! Italian school works a lot differently. First of all, there's five years (you graduate when you’re 19) so I’m actually in class with people my age which is cool. Not cool: it’s six days a week (but it’s only from 8-1 so that’s a little better). And the kids don’t switch classes, the teachers switch rooms, which makes it a lot easier to make friends because I’m always with the same 21 other people. There’s also a really cool vibe during class because this is everyone’s 5th year together, so they’re all really comfortable with each other. There’s also two kids in my class that did exchange last year – one boy went to Orlando and one girl went to Wyoming. So it’s really nice to have two people who speak really good English if I need help with something. However, I do need help with basically everything, because I’m in a scientifico class for some reason which means my primary classes (the ones I spend the most time doing) are math, physics, and chemistry. What a gap year! At least it’ll really prepare me for that theology major next year.


And of course, because it’s my first two weeks in a new country, I’ve messed up a lot. Notable times: when I couldn’t unlock the front door (from the inside; there wasn’t even a key involved) and I had to facetime my Italian friend so she could tell me what to do, every time that I haven’t finished everything on my plate (which Italians do every. single. meal.), and the fact that every single time I take the bus I somehow bump into twenty random strangers even though everyone else is somehow standing stiller than I can on flat ground. But I seriously love this place. I’ve done so many things I never imagined I would – from taking art history in an Italian high school to standing in a building from the year 1000. It’s also been really hard to be away from home (way harder than I thought it would be) but Italians are super inviting, and everything I look at is insanely beautiful. I can’t wait to see what else is gonna happen this year!


PS if you tried to text me on my regular phone number I only didn't respond cause I got a new one I don't hate you I promise! It's +39 334 971 1920 but only use WhatsApp or we'll both have to pay for international texting and I need that money to buy gelato!

181 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Ciao.

The Truth about Being An Exchange Student (as far as I know)

If you haven’t already heard, I went to ~church camp~ this week. Finally made it to Mass in Italy (that is, four Masses, because it was, like, really a church camp), had some really cool experiences t

bottom of page